What happens to the sub-objects on/related to the records being merged?
- All associated sub-objects are merged onto to the record selected as the master record as long as "Use Salesforce Merge" is checked on Screen #3.
- When this box is checked, DemandTools calls in Salesforce's merge call to perform the merge, functioning exactly as it would if merging records directly in the Salesforce user interface.
- This option is ONLY available when merging Accounts, Contacts, and Leads and is the default for all prebuilt scenarios and any new custom scenarios built by the user.
- If the "Use Salesforce Merge" box is unchecked, or unavailable (i.e. merging objects other than Accounts, Contacts, or Leads, e.g. Opportunities, custom objects, etc.), the following caveats detailed here will apply.
More information on the movement of data during a merge:
- Updating empty fields on the master record with data from the non-master record is the default, just like it is when merging directly in Salesforce.
- Users can uncheck any field in the "Update Fields Where Master Empty" section if it is preferred for blank master record fields to not be updated by the non-master data.
Additional merge options available in DemandTools' Single Table Deduplication include (these options are NOT provided when merging via the Salesforce user interface):
- Combine Field Values:
- Applicable to: Multi-select picklist, text area fields, boolean (true/false) fields
- Combines field values from master and subordinate by checking the field in the "Combine Field Values" section.
- In the case of a true/false field, checking the box to combine will mean that true always wins (if any of the records in the group are true, the master will be true).
- Reassign to Master Owner:
- During the merge allows for sub-objects to be reassigned to whoever owns the master record.
- This will only apply to sub-objects that are being moved from any non-master records to the master record.
- To leave all sub-object ownership as is, leave all boxes unchecked (which is the default).
- Prefix Non-Master Objects vs. Delete:
- User can elect to prefix a field of their choice on the non-master record with text (e.g. mark for deletion) vs. deleting the non-master record once the merge is complete.
- Keep in mind this option DOES NOT make it easier to undo a merge. The merge is complete and a backup you made will be needed to restore any merges.
- The record that is prefixed simply contains all the original field vlaues that were already on that record.
- This option is typically used when a merged record CANNOT be immediately deleted for some reason.